How To Pack – Packing Part 2

In my previous post I talked about what I am packing for my six week trip to Chile. Today, I’m excited to share my favorite tips and tricks for how to pack certain items!

Packing Cubes

866241

Packing cubes are an absolute LIFESAVER! I love them so much! Whether I am going away for weeks or a weekend these making organizing, packing, and unpacking my suitcase a thousand times easier. For my upcoming trip to Chile I am packing a lot of bulky, winter clothing. These packing cubes have helped compress the bulkier sweaters while keeping them looking nice so I can pack other clothes and toiletries. I have room for everything I need and it is organized so once I arrive to my destination it is easy to unpack and settle in.

Pill Box

IMG_0118_lr

Personally, when i think of a pill box I usually think of my grandparents taking their medication. But I have learned that it has an even better use for travelers! I didn’t get my ears pierced until college, but since then I have learned that pill boxes are amazing for packing earrings. Each pair or two can have their own compartment, and it is easy to fit some necklaces and rings in the compartments as well. I love this because I know where I’m putting my earrings when I take them off, and I know that the lids will keep them safe inside.

Backpack, Carry On, or Checked Baggage

This is probably one of the most important strategies I use. Depending on the size of an item and when I’ll be using it after I arrive, I put an item in my backpack, my carry on, or my checked baggage. For example, I always put a sweater and a book in my backpack or purse so I have easy access to those things during my flight. For my carry on that goes in the overhead storage bin I put something I may need immediately once I arrive to my destination or that I can’t go without for long. These are items like pajamas, clean underwear, and medication. ¬†Finally, my checked baggage has the majority of my things such as my wardrobe, large liquid toiletries, and things I may not need until I have settled in to my destination. Another strategy for checked baggage is to fill it with items that are a little easier to replace. One example of this are my hair styling tools. I love my hair straightener and would be devastated if it became lost with my checked baggage. But my blow dryer can be easily replaced once I arrive, so I packed it with my checked baggage suitcase.

What are some strategies you use to pack your things? Do you fold things a certain way? Pack like colors with one another? Please share and let’s think about the best way for each of us to pack!

 

One thought on “How To Pack – Packing Part 2

  1. Pingback: When To Pack – Packing Part 3 | Exploring My World

Leave a Reply

