What Is Home? – JUNE BLOG CHALLENGE

Image may contain: text

This meme basically sums up what home is as a college student, haha! You have more than one home and always feel confused on where you want to be.

While I’m in school my apartment is my home. This is where I study, where I eat, and where I live with my four best friends. This is where I go to have my spirits lifted, have a good laugh, and talk about life. This is where I go to know that I am not alone. There will always be someone to share my excitements and burdens with, and I am always there for my friends to share with me too.

Whenever school is out for winter or summer break I go to my home home. The home where I grew up. This is where my parents go to bed early and wake up even earlier. This is where my older sister bosses me around to do chores, then cracks a joke. This is where we all sit and eat dinner together and talk and watch TV together. This is where I share my hopes and dreams and fears and receive unconditional love in return.

Last summer in Costa Rica I had a home in San Jose. This summer is a little weirder though. I know I’ll have a home in Santiago when I go to Chile, but what about now? I lived in the house where I was pet sitting but I didn’t feel at home. I have my apartment but I’m the only one there this summer. So until I go to Chile, the library is the closest thing to a home I have. This is where I go to work as a tutor. This is where my coworkers and I talk about life and laugh. This is where I smile the most during the day. As the old saying goes…

…Home is where the heart is

Leave a Reply

