Something To Remember – JUNE BLOG CHALLENGE

Everyone has a mantra that they try to live by. Today, I’d like to share some of the mantras that I remember throughout the day that are important to me!

Choose happiness. About a year ago I struggled with anxiety, and while I am doing much better now I still have my bad days. So whenever I’m feeling down, and I’m feeling down because of things out of my control, I try to remind myself to choose happiness. I remind myself that I am in control of my happiness, not the things that happen to me. This brings me to my second mantra…

Keep things in perspective. The other day I locked my key in my car and it basically ruined my afternoon. When I called my dad to let him know what happened he told me about how my mom had locked her key, me, AND my sister in the car! Suddenly what had happened didn’t seem so bad. While some days are just bad days and it’s okay to feel upset over it, keeping things in perspective helps me choose happiness.

I think this Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them quote sums these two mantras up pretty well…

“My philosophy is that worrying means you suffer twice.” – Newt Scamander

There are two other very important mantras I try to remember:

Getting started is the hardest part. This is SO important for me to remember as a student. There’s a lot I need to do even if I don’t want to, but once I start an assignment I become engrossed in it! So whenever there’s a project that needs to get done, I always think of how good it’ll feel when I’m finished once I’m getting started.

Discipline is a muscle to be exercised.  As is resilience, and creativity, and endurance. Once I saw a video on Facebook, and a man was saying that practicing discipline is the best way to improve it instead of trying to save it for special occasions. I’ve continued to hear the same thing about resilience, creativity, and endurance: that if you want more of it, you need to practice it instead of assuming it will always be there.

What are the mantras you live by? What is something you try to remember? Let’s explore the things that we remember!

 

Leave a Reply

